Stonehill Sweeps Top-Three Spots To Take Shacklette Invitiational

Junior Emily Regan won the
Shacklette Invitational with a
time of 19:17.4.

Regan, Berkowicz and Carmone go 1-2-3 for Skyhawks in season opener

MANCHESTER, N.H. (September 8, 2012) – The Stonehill College women's cross country team, ranked 23th overall in the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Association (USTFCCCA) Division II preseason poll, swept the top-three spots and scored 18 points to win the 31st annual Shacklette Invitational on Saturday afternoon at Saint Anselm College.

Junior Emily Regan (Hanson, Mass./Whitman-Hanson Regional), freshman Julia Berkowicz (Woodstock, Conn./Whitinsville Christian) and senior Erin Carmone (Riverside, R.I. / East Providence) took the top-3 places to guide the Skyhawks with 18 points. Saint Anselm College finished second overall (57 points), Assumption checked in at third overall (96), Southern New Hampshire University ranked fourth (108) and Bentley University finished fifth (119) to round out the top-5.

Regan took first place individual honors by covering the 5-kilometer course in 19 minutes and 17.4-seconds to lead Stonehill to its second-straight team-victory at the Shacklette Invitational. Berkowicz posted a time of 19:34.5 to edge out Carmone who finished third overall in 19:35.1.

Freshman Kathleen McMahon (Brunswick, Maine/Brunswick) ranked fifth overall with a time of 19:47.6 while senior Stephanie Wilson (Wayzata, Minn./Hopkins) led a pack of four-straight Stonehill finishers in seventh place (20:09.7). Sophomore Sarah Wilson (West Suffield, Conn./Suffield) was eighth (20:10.8), junior Elizabeth LaRegina (New Fairfield, Conn./New Fairfield) ranked ninth overall (20:11.8) and junior Melissa Ulcena (Billerica, Mass./Billerica) was tenth overall (20:29.1).

Freshman Michelle Fedor (Monroe, Conn./Masuk) placed 17th overall in 21:08.5 and classmate Molly Hellman (Rumson, N.J./Rumson-Fair Haven Regional) finished 22nd overall (21:39.8).

Stonehill returns to action on Saturday, September 15 at the Minuteman Invitational hosted by University of Massachusetts at noon.